Numurkah Leader
Cleeland and Foster Waaia’s best

KEY defenders took out the Waaia Football Netball Club’s senior football and netball awards when the club counted its votes on Friday night.

Twenty year-old Mitch Cleeland won the Tom Thornton Medal, and Milly Foster was rewarded for a stellar season with the Julie Tyndall Medal.

Cleeland had a great season, rarely beaten against the premier forwards in the competition, and finished with 55 votes, eight ahead of runner-up Charlie Borrows.

Burrows had an outstanding season roaming the forward line, kicking 63 goals, the third time he has kicked more than 60 goals in a season.

A grade netball captain Milly Foster polled 48 votes for her key role in defence, combating the league’s gun shooters each week.

Runner-up was Chloe Thorne on 40 votes, playing mostly mid court, but at times excelling as, although undersized, a very accomplished goal shooter. 

The reserves football vote count came down to the last match of the season, with Sean Carey winning by a single vote over Mark Bergamin.

Carey led young Bergamin by five votes with only the grand final card to be counted. Bergamin gained four votes, to leave Carey as the winner, with 44 votes to 43.

Both Carey and Bergamin were worthy winners, playing a number of senior games through the season.

Hayley Thorne, who had an outstanding season and a terrific finals series, took out the B grade netball award, finishing on 46 votes.

Thorne finished 10 votes ahead of Marni Hicks, who was a key player through the mid court and, at times, in the goal circle.

The C grade top award was won by Olivia Deane, a very accurate goaler, winning with 39 votes, from youngster Holly Scott on 34 votes. 

Abbi Harris claimed the C reserve best and fairest award in a close count, by two votes over Makenzie Sprunt. The two played at opposite ends of the court, Harris having a strong year in the goal circle, and Sprunt being the Bombers’ main defender.


Senior football - Most consistent, Ashley Thompson; Most determined, Dylan Cornick; Coach’s award, Glen Payne; Best finals series, Sam Richardson; Leading goal kicker Charlie Burrows; B est first year player, Tim Belford; Most improved, Todd Davies.

Reserves football - Coach’s award, Steve Hixon; Most improved, Hayden Hixon; Most consistent, Ethan McDonald; Leading goal kicker, Brayden Carey; Best team player, Glen Payne; Best finals series, Hayden Hixon.

A grade netball - Most dependable, Angela Thorne.

B grade netball - Most dependable, Maddi Cleeland.

C grade netball - Best finals player, Rachel Thorne.

C reserve netball - Most improved, Kim Daniel.